Elephant Sitting Still – Directed by Hu Bo

I finished watching Elephant Sitting Still last night. It took me 3 days as the film runs 3 hours and 54 minutes. This movie is a tough sell on many levels. The director took his own life after production was complete. He was 28. It’s a slow moving, present moment presentation of 4 intertwined stories in the modern world. It’s beautiful. Sad. Thought provoking. It’s also very cleansing. For someone like me with eye issues, this is the kind of cinema that relaxes my eye. You can live in those long takes and see the world in a new way. I think it’s a film that finds you when you are ready for it. I recommend watching it alone. I look forward to watching it again sometime soon.

This video does an excellent job describing the experience. Don’t worry about any plot spoilers as it’s all about the journey.

Leave a comment