True Love

4013-039

“The Good News means we can stop lying to ourselves. The sweet sound of amazing grace saves us from the necessity of self deception. It keeps us from denying that though Christ was victorious, the battle with lust, greed and pride still rages within us.  

As a sinner  who has been redeemed, I can acknowledge that I am often unloving, irritable, angry and resentful with those closest to me. When I go to church I can leave my white hat at home and admit I have failed. God not only loves me as I am, but also knows me as I am. Because of this I don’t need to apply spiritual cosmetics to make myself presentable to Him. I can accept ownership of my poverty and powerlessness and neediness.”

~ Brennan Manning, The Ragamuffin Gospel

Regardless of age and experience on this Earth, we are all children and we are loved.

Leave a Reply

