Thank God

john-wesley

Recently, I have been drawn to explore the life and works of John Wesley. During the 1700’s, he was literally a man on a mission. His message of Oneness reaches outside of the “Church” and will pluck you right off the street, if you let it. To me, his words have served to strengthen the bridge I’ve been crossing on this journey, helping me cross the divide. You might be surprised what you find.

As I write this I feel slight hesitation in blogging so clearly about faith and God. I know that for most of us who have sought spiritual fulfillment through alternative channels, talk of God can be an instant flip switcher in your head. “No thanks! Parents dragged me to church as a kid. Seen those con artists on TV. Not for me!”

This is where I have come to recognize that old fear was just another illusion. I had some spoiled milk once, but I didn’t give up milk. I might have stayed away from it for a bit but I did go back. Now I just pay closer attention to what I am drinking.

To me, the only major difference in the current “Oneness” movement sweeping the globe and John Wesley’s preaching is that Wesley gives credit to God. In my opinion, the current movement tap dances around that issue and desperately wants to give credit where credit is due. Gracefully. it leaves that final step up to you and me to choose when we’re ready. I see now that it truly is possible to turn your back on ego. Thank God.

The Covenant Prayer

by John Wesley

I am no longer my own but yours.

Your will, not mine, be done in all things,
wherever you may place me,
in all that I do and in all that I may endure;
when there is work for me and when there is none;
when I am troubled and when I am at peace.

Your will be done
when I am valued and when I am disregarded;
when I find fulfillment and when it is lacking;
when I have all things, and when I have nothing.

I willingly offer all I have and am to serve you,
as and where you choose.

Glorious and blessed God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit,
you are mine and I am yours,
may it be so for ever.

Let this covenant now made on earth be fulfilled in heaven.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

