Be Excellent To Each Other

Some things just get sweeter with time. I loved Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure as a kid. In fact, I loved it so much I think I saw it multiple times in the theater the summer it came out.

A few weeks ago I watched it again for the first time in God only knows how many years. My girlfriend and I thought the kids just might get a kick out of watching this 80’s classic with us. Sometimes they aren’t too thrilled with our old favorites. We often get that look that says “This is what you used to call entertainment? That explains so much.” 🙂

Happily this wasn’t the case with Bill and Ted’s as they both really loved it! I haven’t heard them laugh so loud at a movie in a long time. There was even a “That’s the 2nd best movie I’ve ever seen!” put on the table. I believe Mary Poppins currently holds the number 1 slot. Strong competition!

If you’ve never seen the movie or haven’t in a long time it was surprising, at least to me, to find so much truth in such a seemingly silly little film. Holding this fragile weave of a story together are universal messages of love and understanding along with a pre-Neo Keanu Reeves and the always awesome George Carlin. I understand now what the Universe was trying to show me back then even if I didn’t comprehend the big picture. Much like our favorite dudes from the film. 😉

Check it out if you feel open to it. I mean, how can you not enjoy a film that takes Plato, Lincoln, Billy The Kid, Beethoven, and Joan of Arc on a time travelling adventure? Party on dudes.

One comment

  1. This is great! What a wonderful memory Bill and Ted are. So true about a seemingly “silly” movie having profound truth running through it. We listen to the 80’s in the car and sometimes my husband and I look at each other in disbelief as we sing old familiar words that were just a quirky, catchy song back then…ringing with profound truth and spiritual lessons galore! 🙂 We will open the vault on some of those movies! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

