A Universe of Singing Stars

So my girlfriend shared this video on Facebook this morning and it just rocked my cup o’ joe! Scientists have turned light signals from distant stars into sound. By analysing the amount of hiss in the sound, they can work out the star’s surface gravity and what stage it’s at in its evolution from dwarf to red giant.

I guess this could be old news to many of you but I crept slowly and quietly out of my astronomy class in college once it became apparent that higher mathematics was going to be involved. If only I’d been brave and stuck with it. Guess it worked out so I would find this discovery now and be awed by it.

Turns out that Jason Mraz was right. Everything IS sound! 🙂

Leave a Reply

